9 New Books for Your TBR This October!

October 10, 2018 | 2:00 PM

9 New Books for Your TBR This October!

By Team Fierce Reads

Make room on your TBR list!

Are your bookshelves groaning yet? October is here and we have some brand new books for you to add to your ever-growing stack of books to read! Whether you like fantasies with ruthless, murderous girls, stunning sci-fi graphic novels, lush books packed with magical realism, great non-fiction, or something to get you in the mood for Christmas a little early this year, we've got just the book for you!




The Boneless Mercies by April Genevieve Tucholke

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are the Boneless Mercies—girls hired to kill quickly, quietly, and mercifully. But Frey is weary of the death trade and, having been raised on the heroic sagas of her people, dreams of a bigger life. 

When she hears of an unstoppable monster ravaging a nearby town, Frey decides this is the Mercies' one chance out. The fame and fortune of bringing down such a beast would ensure a new future for all the Mercies. In fact, her actions may change the story arc of women everywhere.

Full of fierce girls, bloodlust, tenuous alliances, and unapologetic quests for glory, this elegantly spun tale challenges the power of storytelling—and who gets to be the storyteller. Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab, and Heidi Heilig.

On Sale: October 2, 2018




On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden

Two timelines. Second chances. One love.

A restoration crew travels to the deepest reaches of space, rebuilding beautiful, broken structures to piece the past together.

A boarding school student meets a mysterious classmate and falls deeply in love—only to learn the pain of loss.

With two interwoven timelines and stunning art, award-winning graphic novelist Tillie Walden creates an inventive world, breathtaking romance, and an epic quest for love.

On Sale: October 2, 2018




The Summoner's Handbook by Taran Matharu

The Summoner series is stocked with characters both human and supernatural. Now all those characters come to life through artwork, maps, and detailed origin stories and descriptions, and a never before seen entry from James Baker's journal. This is the deluxe volume that fans of the series will want to own.

On Sale: October 2, 2018




History vs Women by Anita Sarkeesian and Ebony Adams, Ph.D.

Rebels, rulers, scientists, artists, warriors and villains

Women are, and have always been, all these things and more. 

Looking through the ages and across the globe, Anita Sarkeesian, founder of Feminist Frequency, along with Ebony Adams PHD, have reclaimed the stories of twenty-five remarkable women who dared to defy history and change the world around them. From Toltec queens to Chinese pirates, Native American ballerinas to Egyptian scientists, Japanese novelists to British Prime Ministers, History vs Women will reframe the history that you thought you knew.

On Sale: October 2, 2018




Last Pick by Jason Walz

Three years ago, aliens invaded Earth and abducted everyone they deemed useful. The only ones spared were those too young, too old, or too “disabled” to be of value. Living on Earth under the aliens’ harsh authoritarian rule, humanity’s rejects do their best to survive. Their captors never considered them a threat—until now.

Twins Sam and Wyatt are ready to chuck their labels and start a revolution. It’s time for the kids last picked to step into the game.

On Sale: October 9, 2018




Blanca & Roja by Anna-Marie McLemore

The Cerceta girls have never just been sisters; they’re also rivals. They know that one day, they’ll find themselves drawn into a  dangerous game to determine which sister will stay a girl and which will be cursed to live as a swan. 

But when two of their childhood friends become drawn into the game, the curse threatens to decide the fate not just of the sisters, but of all four of them. Blanca & Roja is the captivating story of sisters, friendship, love, hatred, and the price we pay to protect our hearts for fans of magical realism, gorgeous writing, and sister stories.

On Sale: October 9, 2018




Carols and Chaos by Cindy Anstey

From the author of Suitors and Sabotage comes a swoonworthy Christmas adventure, perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey.

1817. The happy chaos of the Yuletide season has descended upon the country estate of Shackleford Park in full force, but lady's maid Kate Darby barely has the time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her ailing mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are quite full. Matt Harlow is also rather busy. He's performing double-duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, two of the estate's holiday guests. 

Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But staving off their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when a devious counterfeiting scheme reaches the gates of Shackleford Park, and Kate and Matt are unwittingly swept up in the intrigue.

On Sale: October 9, 2018



Attucks!: Oscar Robertson and the Basketball Team that Awakened a City by Phillip Hoose

The true story of the all-black high school basketball team that broke the color barrier in segregated 1950s Indiana, masterfully told by National Book Award winner Phil Hoose.

By winning the state high school basketball championship in 1955, ten teens from an Indianapolis school meant to be the centerpiece of racially segregated education in the state shattered the myth of their inferiority. Their brilliant coach had fashioned an unbeatable team from a group of boys born in the South and raised in poverty. Anchored by the astonishing Oscar Robertson, a future college and NBA star, the Crispus Attucks Tigers went down in history as the first state champions from Indianapolis and the first all-black team in U.S. history to win a racially open championship tournament—an integration they had forced with their on-court prowess.

On Sale: October 23, 2018



Anna and the Apocalypse by Katharine Turner with Barry Waldo

School’s out for the end of the world.

Anna Shepherd is a straight-A student with a lot going on under the surface: she’s struggling with her mom’s death, total friend drama, and the fallout from wasting her time on a very attractive boy. She’s looking forward to skipping town after graduation—but then a zombie apocalypse majorly disrupts the holidays season. It’s going to be very hard to graduate high school without a brain.

To save the day, Anna, her friends, and her frenemies will have to journey straight to the heart of one of the most dangerous places ever known, a place famous for its horror, terror, and pain… high school.

This novel is inspired by the musical feature film, Anna and the Apocalypse.


Blog