An Interview with Adalyn Grace, Author of All the Stars and Teeth

February 3, 2020 | 4:00 PM

An Interview with Adalyn Grace, Author of All the Stars and Teeth

By Team Fierce Reads

Can you believe it?!

All the Stars and Teeth is finally here!

Everyone has been absolutely buzzing about this amazing debut fantasy packed with unruly royals, pirates, and mermaids, and we are so excited to finally share this magic with the world. We could go on for days about how much we love Adalyn Grace’s debut, but instead, we’ll let this interview with her give you a taste for this epic high-seas adventure.


What makes Amora Fierce?


Amora is fierce because she knows exactly what she wants, and is unapologetic about going after it. Female characters tend to be put into molds of who they can or should be, and are judged so harshly in comparison to male characters. They can get away with so much less. It often feels like women aren’t allowed to be confident, and that they’re expected to downplay their accomplishments. Amora doesn’t buy into this, and won’t alter or downplay herself for anyone. I really respect those traits in her, and think they make her incredibly fierce.


If you could give Amora one piece of advice, what would it be?


I would tell her not to be so afraid to let others in. Amora often feels like she has to take on everything herself, and doesn’t let herself rely on others. But she’s surrounded by people who love and would like to support her, and I’d tell her to try to recognize and accept that.


What's the strangest thing you learned while researching All the Stars and Teeth?


Oh gosh. Aside from researching seafaring and ship anatomy, I learned quite a bit about dissected limbs and congealed blood. The FBI agent who watches my computer must have been super weirded out that night.  


If you'd met Amora as a teen, would you have been friends and why?


I feel like I would have definitely wanted to be friends with her, but she might have intimidated me! She’s so confident and self-assured, and I would have really admired that from afar. But it might have taken me until college to really work up the nerve to try to be friends with her. 


What's one fun fact most people don't know about you?


I can lick my elbow? But if that’s too weird, I’m also pretty good at doing weird things with my voice. I think I would have liked to try my hand at voice acting if I hadn’t fallen in love with writing books.  


What's your favorite part of being an author?


10000% it’s talking to readers. I can’t even begin to describe how amazing, supportive, and kind the readers have been from the very beginning. From making art of the quotes and characters to yelling excitedly in my comments and telling me at events how they’ve enjoyed the book, they’ve been so incredible. The readers are amazing. 


What's the most challenging part of being an author?


Transitioning from writing being a hobby to it being my job has been incredibly difficult. For years and years, I wrote for fun, with no pressure from anyone reading or judging my work. Now, I’m in this weird gray zone where I feel like I no longer have a hobby because now my writing is how I pay the bills! I’ve been looking at maybe doing some fencing classes at a community college or studying another language because I need a new hobby!

Also, the admin work and the pressure of expectations (from what’s written in the book, to interaction on social media) are also challenging and have taken some work to get used to.


Which three fictional YA characters would you want by your side on a high seas adventure?


I’m totally cheating and imagining that Amora is coming with me too because I don’t think she’d let me make a crew that didn’t have her in it. But apart from her...

Roën from Children of Blood and Bone because he knows his way around a ship, and has a slick enough tongue to hopefully get us out of any potentially dangerous situations.

Ana from Blood Heir, because her magic is terrifyingly awesome and I need to be on her good side.

Eelyn from Sky in the Deep, for her boldness and incredible mental and physical strength.

Everyone on the sea should be terrified of this powerful crew. If they try to commandeer your ship, I highly recommend walking the plank and just letting them have it.


Describe your book in 3 words.


A viciously magical adventure.




All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

“Fierce and unrelenting… Do yourself a favor and get lost in this beautiful book!” — Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone

Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace’s All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

She will reign.

As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer—the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it’s never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy’s dangerous soul magic.

When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he’ll help her prove she’s fit to rule, if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic.

But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder—and more peril—than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she’ll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stow-away she never expected… or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever.

I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.


Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *