An Interview with Kristina Pérez, Author of Sweet Black Waves

May 28, 2018 | 2:00 PM

An Interview with Kristina Pérez, Author of Sweet Black Waves

By Team Fierce Reads

Sweet Black Waves is almost here! ????

To celebrate the upcoming release of this swoony historical debut novel, we’ve asked Kristina Pérez to answer some questions about her latest book.

1. What makes Branwen Fierce?
Branwen is fierce because she holds tight to her ideals even when it comes at great personal cost.

2. If you'd met Branwen when you were a teen, would you have been friends?
In many ways, Branwen is like a teen me (except with magic!), which means we probably would have locked horns if we’d ever been made lab partners!

3. If you could give Branwen one piece of advice, what would it be?
Branwen is not great at self-care, so I think I would tell her to be more gentle with herself.

4. What's your favorite part of being an author?
Connecting with readers is definitely my favorite part. Writers pour their hearts into their work and to have someone read my stories and connect with my characters feels like magic to me.

5. What's one fun fact most people don't know about you?
I have two forms of synesthesia. I see numbers as inherently colored (three is blue, for example), and I perceive time (hours, days, months, years) as having precise locations.

Sweet Black Waves by Kristina Pérez

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow, will set Branwen against her best friend and the only man she's ever loved.

Inspired by the legend of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance.

Start reading now.