Start Reading 2021’s Most Anticipated Debut RIGHT NOW!

July 16, 2020 | 1:00 PM

Start Reading 2021’s Most Anticipated Debut RIGHT NOW!

By Team Fierce Reads
Don’t you just love a book that hooks you right from the first page and has you craving more? The deep secrets, twists, and turns that cause you to gasp out loud? Good news for you! Entertainment Weekly just revealed the STUNNING cover to one of 2021’s most anticipated debuts, and we. are. obsessed. Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must uncover corruption threatening her community. Twisty, pulse-pounding, and perfect for fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange, Firekeeper’s Daughter is on sale March 2, 2021, and we obviously can’t wait for everyone to start reading. So why wait? Today, we’re sharing the first three (yes three!!) chapters of Firekeeper’s Daughter. Check out the stunning cover, start reading, and don’t forget to make Firekeeper’s Daughter #1 on your TBR list next March! Start reading now!   Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley Cover Art: Moses Lunham and Rich Deas Cover Design: Rich Deas Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange. As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don’t add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation. Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but secretly pursues her own investigation, tracking down the criminals with her knowledge of chemistry and traditional medicine. But the deceptions—and deaths—keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home. Now, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she'll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known. Add it on Goodreads
Angeline Boulley, an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, is a storyteller who writes about her Ojibwe community in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. She was selected as an emerging Young Adult writer in the 2019 We Need Diverse Books Mentorship Program and chosen to attend the 2019 Tin House YA Writers Workshop. As a former Director of the Office of Indian Education at the U.S. Department of Education, she focused on improving the education of Native American students at the tribal, state, regional, and national levels. She lives and works in the Washington, D.C. area, but her home will always be on Sugar Island. Firekeeper’s Daughter is her debut novel.  

Blog