The Awakening of Malcolm X

The Awakening of Malcolm X

The Awakening of Malcolm X

by Ilyasah Shabazz and Tiffany D. Jackson

A Cosmopolitan Magazine Recommended Winter Read "Shabazz and Jackson effectively illuminate not only the figure’s religious and political awakening, but the injustice historically leveled against the Black community by mass incarceration and systemic racism." —Publishers Weekly, starred review "A must-read reminder that transformation is made possible through community." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review "Libraries will be incomplete without the inclusion of this captivating historical novel by Malcolm X’s daughter." —School Library Journal, starred review The Awakening of Malcolm X is a powerful narrative account of the activist's adolescent years in jail, written by his daughter Ilyasah Shabazz along with 2019 Coretta Scott King-John Steptoe award-winning author, Tiffany D. Jackson.

Available wherever books are sold!

About the Author

About Ilyasah Shabazz

Ilyasah Shabazz, third daughter of Malcolm X and Dr. Betty Shabazz, is an educator, activist, motivational speaker, and author of multiple award-winning publications, including her books, Betty Before X and X: A Novel. She is also an active advocacy worker and an adjunct professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City.

About Tiffany D. Jackson

Tiffany D. Jackson is the critically acclaimed author of YA novels including the NAACP Image Award-nominated Allegedly and Monday's Not Coming, a Walter Dean Myers Honored Book and Coretta Scott King New Talent Award winner, as well as Let Me Here a Rhyme. She received her bachelor of arts in film from Howard University, her master of arts in media studies from the New School, and has over a decade in TV/Film experience.