Celebrating Black-Owned Indie Bookstores this Black Business Month

August 9, 2021 | 12:00 PM

Celebrating Black-Owned Indie Bookstores this Black Business Month

By Team Fierce Reads
August is Black Business Month and we’re marking the occasion with a can’t-miss event series. Every evening from August 16 until August 20, we’ll be partnering with different Black-owned bookstores to bring you five incredible Black authors and creators. Check out the full schedule below and be sure to tune in for all of the events to support these incredible Black businesses! August 16 at 8pm ET Crystal Fleming with Mahogany Books August 17 at 8pm ET: Bethany C. Morrow with The Lit. Bar August 18 at 8pm ET: Randi Pink with Source Booksellers August 19 at 8pm ET: K. Ancrum with Brave + Kind Books August 20 at 8pm ET: Amber McBride with Loyalty Bookstore Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy by Crystal M. Fleming Perfect for fans of Stamped: Remix, This Book is Antiracist, and The Black Friend, this urgent book explores the roots of racism and its legacy in modern day, all while empowering young people with actionable ways they can help foster a better world and become antiracists.   So Many Beginnings: A Little Women Remix by Bethany C. Morrow Four young Black sisters come of age during the American Civil War in So Many Beginnings, a warm and powerful YA remix of the classic novel Little Women, by national bestselling author Bethany C. Morrow.   Angel of Greenwood by Randi Pink Randi Pink's Angel of Greenwood is a historical YA novel that takes place during the Greenwood Massacre of 1921, in an area of Tulsa, OK, known as the "Black Wall Street."     Darling by K. Ancrum A teen girl finds herself lost on a dangerous adventure in this YA thriller by the acclaimed author of The Wicker King and The Weight of the Stars—reimagining Peter Pan for today’s world.     Me (Moth) by Amber McBride A debut YA novel-in-verse by Amber McBride, Me (Moth) is about a teen girl who is grieving the deaths of her family, and a teen boy who crosses her path.    

Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *